The amount of units in closing stock is calculated as follows:
Opening units + Actual units produced – Actual units sold.
Therefore closing stock equals = 3,500 + 64,000 + 62,000 = 5,500 units.
Under Marginal costing each unit of orange juice will be valued at the variable cost of production. This is calculated as follows:
Total variable production cost divided by the number of actual units produced.
Variable cost per unit = $3,200,000/64,000 units = $50 per unit.
Therefore the value of the closing stock under marginal costing would be $50 x 5,500 unit = $275,000.
The value of the opening stock under marginal costing would be the total of opening inventory given minus the value of the fixed production overheads included:
Therefore the opening stock = $210,000 - $35,000 = $175,000.
Now that all of the workings have been completed the Marginal Costing Income Statement of Aqualead for the year ended 31st March, 2011 can be prepared.
Now that both the Absorption and Marginal Costing Income Statements have been completed the reconciliation between the Net Incomes calculated under each method can be done.
I hope that you found this proposed solution helpful! If you did please share it! Also, feel free to ask any questions or to comment below. Best of luck!
The author holds a Bsc (Hons) Degree in Applied Accounting from Oxford Brookes University, England and enjoys a successful career as an Accounting Supervisor and a private tutor.